Logo

drjeff1

Vaccinations

This topic contains 2 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Anonymous 12 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

I am new to this so bear with me….I am not sure that I have registered correctly and I just sent a question in probably to the wrong area. It responded that it was sent to the webmaster. So I will rewrite my question and send it here. I have a shitzu 1.5 years in age. I decided that this time around I was going to raise this little guy as naturally as possible. I did extensive research on a dog’s diet and vaccinations. I chose to feed him the raw food diet with ground up veggies. He is doing wonderful on this!!! Absolutely great. As for the vaccinations, I personally do not believe in vaccinations for people or pets. I had my pet’s titers drawn just so that i could see where he stood with regard to the one’s he received from the breeder and if he had too much of one in him then I would have to find a rememdy to counteract it. It was discovered that he was low for distemper. My question to you is how do you feel about vaccinations in general but specifically distemper. I have not found anything to support the giving of this in any of the literature I have read. My dog is a stay at home dog and he does not go to kennels nor hang around with other dogs. Just his brother which my sister purchased when I got this one. Thanks

Dr. Jeff Feinman
    Keymaster

[quote=Jackie Wanagat]My question to you is how do you feel about vaccinations in general but specifically distemper.
    My dog is a stay at home dog and he does not go to kennels nor hang around with other dogs. Just his brother which my sister purchased when I got this one. Thanks[/quote]

Welcome to the HomeVet forum Jackie-

I think the beginning posts in this folder give a clear picture of my views on vaccination.