Logo

drjeff1

Puppy Bladder Infection – Please Help

This topic contains 2 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Dr. Jeff Feinman 13 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

My 10 week old female Basset probably has a bladder infection.
    She is squatting and peeing constantly (inside the house and out).
    We have no access to a holistic vet and I’m sure our vet will put
    her on antibiotics. I’ve started her on echinacea and goldenseal plus
    cornsilk. Do you have any other suggestions? I live in a small town
    and don’t have access to much – should I take her to the vet?

Anonymous

I don’t mean to jump in here with veterinary advice as I’m not a vet, but having had two dogs now who get chronic UTIs due to a surgical procedure correcting a genetic kidney defect, so this is something I’ve had a lot of experience with.

There are herbs that can treat bladder infections, and homeopathy (which really treats patients, not diseases) can also clear up a urinary tract infection. And so, of course, can antibiotics.

But whichever option you take for treating the UTI, there are some general principles that apply across the board.

First, go to the vet and have a urine culture and sensitivity test done, and a urinalysis. These are two separate tests, and you really do need both of them. Many vets will diagnose and treat a UTI based on a urinalysis alone, and I think this is bad medicine. It prevents you from being able to really monitor the effectiveness of your treatment, and it also makes it harder to go to the next stage of the initial therapy fails (as it often will). I like to use the best of what western/conventional medicine has to offer, and using urine cultures on urinary tract infections is one of those “best things.”