Logo

drjeff1

demodex

This topic contains 2 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Anonymous 13 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

Hi there everyone. I’m actually a Vet Tech (who used to work for a holistically inclined practice and now works at a “regular” practice.) I’m hoping someone has an answer for me here:

I have a 2 year old Boston Terrier with recurring Demodex. He is a rescue (i acquired him about 8 months ago) and as far as i know he’s had it since he was 4 months old or so, to the point where most of his hair fell out. He had most of his hair back by the time i got him, and between October 05 and February 06, he was being treated with oral Ivomec (0.6 ml SID) and Oxydex baths twice weekly. He responded well, and after 3 negative skin scrapes we weaned him off of the Ivomec and finally stopped giving it.

Now, he is starting to lose his fur again. We scraped him yesterday (6/19) and he has mites again, so we restarted the Ivomec and Oxydex baths. Being as I’m curious, we also ran labwork (superchem/cbc/T4/UA) and everything came back normal. I can understand the demodex coming out in his previous life – the previous owners didn’t offer the best care or best food. Now he has a pretty good life- two people that care for him, he comes to work with me almost every day and has canine friends, he gets fed better food (Nutro Natural Choice Chix/rice/oatmeal- i know it’s not raw or organic but let’s face it, I’m a Vet Tech, i’m Poor!) He has a good life and has no obvious underlying conditions.

Basically, i was wondering if there are any good supplements/herbs/remedies that will help him. I’m sure he could use some immunity boosting, if nothing else. Some suggestions would be appreciated! I don’t want to just buy something blindly only to find out it’s not-that-great.

Thanks a lot! I appreciate it!

-Steph

Dr. Jeff Feinman
    Keymaster