Logo

drjeff1

CHF and allergies

This topic contains 1 reply, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Dr. Jeff Feinman 13 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

My 14.5 year old, 12 lbs Pomeranian Kirby was diagnosed with congestive heart failure several months ago. He is currently on .5 mg of Enaparil, .4 cc of Hawthorne tincture and 10 mg of coenzyme Q10.

His diet is Innova Evo kibble (always available) and 1 – 1 ½ oz of Natures Variety Organic Chicken each day. He gets 100% dried chicken or liver for treats or some of the Newmans organic treats occasionally. The chicken and liver are not organic. He does (once a week or so) get a raw chicken leg, wing or liver and gizzard when I can find free range, no hormone chicken. I have been feeding this diet for the last 9-10 months or so and he has lost almost 2 lbs (he was 14 lbs) and has more energy.

In the last week or so he has started having sneezing, runny nose and eyes and some head congestion. I was concerned it was the CHF getting worse, but I took him to the vet today and she said his lungs are clear and thinks it might be allergies, which he has had his share of in his life. She actually was pleased with how he is doing and says his weight is good for his size. She did not want to give us anything for the allergies because of the heart condition. My vet is open to me finding holistic solutions, but has admitted that it is new ground for her, but she is willing to listen and learn. She was actually the one who found the hawthorn solution since she felt the lasix he had been on was too hard on his kidneys. My vet does have some concern with me feeding raw because she recently read an article on ecoli being found in chicken. I didn’t argue, but everything I have read says that raw is the way to go and the risk is minimal to dogs.